How long to stay at first job?

Hi all I'm a new grad and I'm 2 weeks into my first job of family care and I am burnt out. I am having a hard time learning the new emr, medicine, and balancing all the patients I have to see . I feel like the supervising physician is getting a little frustrated with my learning curve. Although they told me when I was hired that they are new grad friendly, it's pretty stressful! How long is appropriate to stay at your first job?

I'm still in school but it sounds like you may be throwing in the towel a bit prematurely? I don't think any job is going to be "easy" 2 weeks outa school. 

My advice: keep your chin up/put your nose to the grindstone (preferably not at the same time) - and keep truckin'

I'm sure some of the more veteran PA's will tell you to stick it out for 6mo-1yr. 

People always say how busy PA school is, with the "drinking from a firehose" bit. Here is the terrifying truth for PA students and recent grads: many (most?) of you will find that "real life" is much more stressful and aggravating than PA school.

In PA school, most of your actions did not have serious consequences. Your faculty was working with you, supporting you and pulling for you to succeed. In "real life" you are part of corporate medicine and someone hired you to make money. Your institution views you not as a human being, but as a revenue stream. There are a bunch of attorneys - and probably even patients - hoping you make a mistake so they can win the lottery with a malpractice claim.

I have seen a number of new grads jump around jobs in the first year after graduation because they thought they were working too hard. By the third job, the horrible reality sinks in: this is what being a PA is really like. You work just as hard as a physician, with 1/3 of the salary and 1/10 of the respect.

Make no mistake, being a PA is still the best job ever and we do awesome things everyday. But be prepared for the life you chose.