How to do research/poster presentation during rotations?

Hello everyone,

I'm a second year PA student about to start my emergency med rotation. I'm interested in doing research on an EM topic and submitting it for presentation at the SEMPA or AAPA conference, but I'm not sure how to go about doing this. I have limited research experience apart from being a lab tech for a geneticist, so I'm starting from scratch. But I'm motivated if given the guidance.

I'd like to learn about what kinds of research students are able to do over the short (5-6 week) time span of a rotation, but can't find a way to filter those out in general academic search engines, etc. 

Any advice or guidance is much appreciated!

What kind of research?  Like, regarding pts or pt information?  The only thing I could imagine you being able to do in that short of time is by using established/ already collected data and even then trying to accomplish that on top of your rotation is a lofty goal.

Your best bet might be to find someone, an MD, PA, etc on your rotation and express interest with research.  They might have a project or know of someone who does that would be willing to at least show you what they are doing.  But an original project in 5-6 weeks when you are starting that rotation soon and have nothing planned?  I wouldn't get my hopes up.  There is a lot of planning and approval involved for research projects.

Thanks for the feedback, MT2PA. I assume the research doesn't all need to be completed during the rotation, but I just don't want my ED rotation to come and go in case I do need to collect information during that time for a project.