em photo quiz( occasional series)

For some reason, the thumbnails aren't enlarging when I click on them, but it looks like some ST seg. elevation in the septal leads....so I'm guessing septal infarct....nice to see the rest to look for any reciprocal changes....the xray is much harder to read being so small...looks like a FB is all I can say

For some reason, the thumbnails aren't enlarging when I click on them, but it looks like some ST seg. elevation in the septal leads....so I'm guessing septal infarct....nice to see the rest to look for any reciprocal changes....the xray is much harder to read being so small...looks like a FB is all I can say

not a fb...

you don't need to see the whole ekg for this dx only leads v1 and v2.

On the EKG, I see flipped T waves in V1 and V2. I'm also not sure if I'm seeing P waves at all, which is especially weird considering the rate around 100. The QRS could also be a little tight. As to what causes that... well, I'm a new grad. I have some street smarts but need practice to see the forest for all these trees.

Of course, we know nothing about history, presentation, or exam (but what would be the fun in that, right?)

The xray is gnarly. I can't figure out what is being avulsed here, as that radio-opaque lump is a fair distance from anywhere that might be normal anatomic position (for a chunk of distal radius, say, and that goes double for a carpal bone). Maybe a calcification where there had been an old injury?

see this link for info on the ekg finding:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brugada_syndrome

this particular ekg goes along with a woman who had chest pain followed by syncope. she ended up with an AICD.

that "radio-opaque lump" is one of the carpal bones-the lunate in fact. worst dislocation any of us had every seen. elderly guy fell forward striking his palmar surface and volar wrist on the ground. yes, it required a surgical repair.....