Being paid hourly with no time and a half?

So new grad with first job here. Surgical first assist with helping in surgical clinic 2-3 times a week. 

The HR director even said that you are "kind of exempt" and that your case is different...when she had me sign the paper. 

Typically get about 95-110 hours every pay period which is 2 weeks. I was told a salary of 96,000 and they had me sign an "exempt" from. Except they have me clock in and out every day and I am being paid hourly. I have an hourly rate of 46 an hour. I don't understand this!! I think the reason they had me sign an exempt form is so they don't have to pay me time and a half but they are still able to pay me hourly. 

What are your thoughts on this and how to approach this since I am a new grad in a small critical access hospital where its all about the bottom dollar. 

I had a job like that. I was salaried exempt and any OT was paid at a flat hourly rate. There are 2 ways of looking at it... if you are salaried exempt they could make you work over without any extra pay. That is what salaried employees do. When your contract is up everything is negotiable

My contract is for 3 years. Talking with one of my colleagues who has been here a year said that the 96,000 a year really turns into around 120,000 a year with all the hours we work along with on call pay. He was offered the same contract I was and with her first year in the books she had around 120,000. That's why I am confused, cause in my contract it states 96,000 but to be paid with an hourly rate of 46 an hour. So all my hours over 80 is still paid 46.

I am not making 36 an hour, I am making 46 an hour, even though my contract says 96,000. Is 46 an hour low for surgery PA right out of school?