Personal Statement Rough Draft

I know it is a bit long right now, but I have time to trim it down. I am just hoping to get some initial reactions.

So here it is. Please share your thoughts and critiques!

I have worked as a paramedic for the past 8 years. This career has given me the opportunity to serve those in need all over the world. The experience that I continue to gain as a paramedic provides me with unique insight into the role that healthcare providers play in the lives of their patients. I feel that combining my unique experience with the numerous lessons I have learned during my career positions me very well to become an outstanding Physician Assistant.

When I first began working as a paramedic, I responded to some of the most economically disadvantaged communities in Tarrant County. While serving these communities I learned that those in desperate need often have the fewest resources available to them. With this in mind, I sincerely understand that the privilege of being a healthcare provider must be approached with the desire to be a servant to our patients. The ability to provide empathetic care to patients across all socioeconomic backgrounds is an essential component of being an effective healthcare provider. Understanding this concept as I seek to begin my PA education places me at a distinct advantage over others who do not share my same level of experience.