Therapist and possibly a PA

So I have a few questions for everyone. First, I am currently a grad student in counseling psychology and am looking into my options for future education. I have always admired the field of medicine and think it a fantastic path to compliment my current degree. Just to be clear we are talking about a MFT/MFC/LPC type liscense (depending on where you are from).

Here are my questions.

I have read that PA's get stuck doing some of the routine tasks like drawing blood, initial physicals, etc. With my MFT liscense would I still be doing therapy or are the MD's really wanting PA's to take over the tasks they don't want to do. What I am kind of saying is that I want to compliment my MFT skills, not set them aside for medicine.

Second. Does anyone have any idea about the salary opportunities for a dual MFT/PA-C person? As much as I want to go through PA school because it is interesting and would help me help others....I am anything but rich. I need to know if shelling out the extra $70 or so would really be financially worth it.

Actually, those are the two questions I am most curious about. The alternative is to continue on through psychology to a psyd/phd. Thanks anyone and everyone for reading this.

• 1 year later...