working while in the 3 year program

I was accepted into the 3 year program this year. I would very much like to work at least part time while going to school. Is this feasible? and Is it a good idea?

Most importantly, how are classes scheduled for the 3 year students? Will I be able to work, lets say, two full days out of the week? I need to know if there are classes that meet every single morning, since my job requires me to work the full 8 hour shifts (from 6am to 3pm).

Thanks! Have a great week!

I did the 3 yr part time program at hahnemann/drexel and worked 24-30 hrs/week as a medic yr 1 and 2 and full time (plus) summer #1.

yr 3 is a full time yr like the regular yr 2 would be so you can't work much then.

schedules will vary by program. we did m-th 8-2 for yr 1 and 2 with a few longer days. this worked out well for me and I graduated at the top of my class( 3 of 80).

Guest hanneybr

hey mini,

while i was there for my interview at U of D mercy a few weeks back I had the chance to speak with a couple of the current 3 yr students. One is currently working about 24 hours a week doing research at U of M. Specifically I dont know about the days of class i know the 2 year students only have class m-th. Mark the student president was telling me that he only had class like 2 days a week as a 3 year student and the other class he had the choice of taking it in the morning or the evening. Im pretty sure you'll be just fine working, but it never hurts to know for sure. I'm going to be working contingent in my current position during the 2 year program. Best of luck !!

Guest Jbraman

I'm also doing the three year program, and I would like to continue working. From what I gathered talking with other students, completing the three year program and working is feasible, but you have to keep up your studies (I know, that's pretty obvious).