F-ing Orgo!!!!! :( :( :(

Guest mattmedwards

Guest mattmedwards

Just blew another orgo test. I was literally pulling out my hair and crying last night over this class. Looks like I'll probably get a C, which isn't accepted at most PA schools. Hell - it isn't even accepted at our Nursing school.

This class is like some kind of horrifying reality show. Started out in 2 large auditoriums and now its down to a couple dozen students. A student got his test and threw up today.

For this test, the prof wanted us to memorize the following structures:

All 20 Amino Acids!!

NAD+

NADH

All 8 B Vitamins

ATP

ADP

A, G, C, T, U nucleotides

Meaning we had to literally recall these from memory and copy the structures exactly. Zwitterions, Watson-Crick bonds, Isoelectric points of Amino Acids. We also had to know everything about DNA transcription, translation, Okazaki fragments, restriction enzymes, polymerases, ect . . .

I studied like crazy for weeks for this exam but I can't seem to get all the structures straight in my head. Its just rote memory but I keep mixing up the locations of functional groups. Its been so stressful because I'm also taking a very hard upper level physiology where more than half the class has already flunked. I am also working part time and have a long commute.

The sad thing is this is a required class to get in our schools nursing school and they don't accept a C. Last year they only accepted 2 students who re-took a class. AND THAT'S THE NURSING SCHOOL!

I feel like my dreams are slipping away and now even my backup plan (nursing) seems out of reach.

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Don't feel like all is lost. How are your other grades? O-chem was the bane of my existence, so I feel ya (although what you're describing sounds like biochem to me). I'm betting there's a lot of people on these forums who had to repeat a class or two in undergrad and who still got into PA school. Hopefully they have some words of comfort or advice.