Men's Health Magazine "bad-mouths" PAs.

Not sure if I'm allowed to post in the "Professional PA" section, as I'm a pre PA student, but I just read something that made me cringe a little bit:

In the June 2011 Men's Health magazine there's an article about skin cancer and the concern that many patients who find concerning moles are not able to see care providers in a timely manner due to a shortage of dermatologists. (Sorry, the article doesn't appear to be available online for me to provide a link.) The article mentioned that mid level providers such as PAs and NPs are being employed by dermatologists in hopes of shrinking wait times for patients to get into the office. However the article says something along the lines of "But these care providers are not as well trained as physicians and are more likely to miss something that might be cancer." (I'm paraphrasing.)

I think this is an example of the public receiving misinformation about PAs. PAs are highly trained professionals, and should not be thought of as "Not as good as the 'real thing', etc."

The article did mention that perhaps the solution to these long wait times to get into the Doctors' office is by putting primary care physicians through more training to better recognize signs of skin cancer. I agree that a focus on primary care is key in prevention and allowing more accessible health care, but I am disappointed in this article's representation of the role of PAs.

Thoughts? Concerns? I am thinking of writing to the magazine. Maybe the AAPA as well. It would be nice if they (Men's Health) could run something about the benefit of seeing PA's and accurately explain the profession. I wanted to know what some of you thought.

No one takes that magazine seriously anyway =P