I'm a recent grad and am looking for my first job. One place called and asked me if I had my letters of recommendations ready. She said "Just for future, you should have these on hand." This caught me off guard. Should I have these done before even applying for any jobs? Should the letters of recommendation be generalized or specific to the job I am applying for? Does this mean I have to ask my references for new letters of recommendations for every job I apply for? Any input is appreciated! Thank you!  

• Upvote 1

you list references in CV and they will talk to them if they want. When I hired someone before, I wanted to know the answers tu my specific questions and I could also judge the tone and enthusiasm of the person on the other side... who needs some generic LOR???

I'm a recent grad and am looking for my first job. One place called and asked me if I had my letters of recommendations ready. She said "Just for future, you should have these on hand." This caught me off guard. Should I have these done before even applying for any jobs? Should the letters of recommendation be generalized or specific to the job I am applying for? Does this mean I have to ask my references for new letters of recommendations for every job I apply for? Any input is appreciated! Thank you!  

This isn't the norm in my experience. You list references and they contact them if they desire. A LOR can be faked and have a date on them so they have a shelf life. The best references are current. It would give me pause if my potential future employer really thought that was how things are supposed to be.

Nope, that's not the norm.  I just went through this and interviewed at multiple places.  All of them just wanted contact info to give them a call.  Having a references document ready to be sent is a good idea but I wouldn't send it until asked.  None of the places even asked me for my references until I had gone through 1-2 phone interviews and they wanted me to come out for a site visit.