MINNESOTA: BETHEL UNIVERSITY

• 2 weeks later...

Hey guys! I'm also applying for this current cycle and waiting for an interview invite is the hardest part for me right now. If there are any current Bethel students and/or successful applicants, I'd like some feedback. 

I just worry about how competitive I am in general.

I graduated Cum Laude (GPA about 3.6) from St. Thomas with a degree in Biology (BS). I did a few leadership opportunities in college, including President of my Quiz Bowl team and Relay for Life. Since then, I've been working on patient care hours and experiences. I worked as a Medical Assistant (MA) intern for a pediatric and urgent care clinic where I learned a lot of hands-on diagnostic procedures with patients. I now work as a PCA for people with physical and/or behavioral disabilities. I even acted as the Lead PCA for one of my clients who was a quadriplegic wherein I would train incoming PCAs on his comprehensive nursing cares, managed the schedules of each PCA on our team, organized his medical supply inventory, and took the initiative to write up his Care Plan. I recently took on another job as an MA for an internal medicine clinic, a new demographic to work with while I study for my CNA license. This past summer I did a research internship at Gillette Children's Hospital for the Pain & Comfort department, where I worked with cerebral palsy and Rett syndrome patients in using a pain interview tool to help them articulate their chronic pain experiences; I co-wrote a research paper with my mentor on the benefits of this process. 

To date, I have a total of about 3,700 direct patient care hours and counting.