Marine Grunt to PA School

Hey Guys, I'm a 28 year old US Marine Veteran and served in two separate tours in Iraq; the last time serving as an Infantry Squad Leader in charge of twelve men. As a civilian I have worked as an EMT-B in CT for the last three years. I graduated from UConn with a Psych major (3.5 GPA), and I recently decided that after taking the MCATs (30), applying to med school, and proceeding to get rejected from everywhere, that PA school might be a better fit for me. I have gone through this whole process by myself, and I am trying to find out what the role of a surgical PA is (Trauma or General), and how they integrate as part of a medical team, or to what extent they are involved working with the surgeon in the OR. Additionally, are there specific PA school programs that are better to apply to if an individual is more interested in going the surgery route? As a natural leader, and decisive individual who thrives in high pressure situations; I am just trying to figure out what field and PA programs would be the best fit for a guy with my background. Thanks.

A very dear friend of mine nailed a 36 on the MCATs and was an actively working paramedic when he was turned down from Med School. He simply took another year of employment and reapplied the following year with great success. I only mention this as my first bit of advice is to re apply for med school. Don't let rejection be your reason for deferring your dream. You have faced horrific odds in desperate situations and came out on top. This is only a bump in the road, not a reason for a detour.