Final Draft-- any suggestions?

I tried to avoid an overly dramatic storyline and focus on why I want to be a PA. Suggestions on content or flow? 

I watch the sawtooth p-wave pattern on the ECG machine and promptly hit print. His ECG looks noticeably different than that of a month prior. It is a textbook waveform of atrial flutter. Glancing back at the patient on the exam table, he smiles and teases me about taking my time reviewing the results. He assures me that he feels fine, but has missed doses of his medications over the past few days, which includes Digoxin. It is the beginning of the summer and due to his chaotic schedule, he skipped picking up refills of most of his medications.

Numerous chronic conditions require medications, lifestyle changes, or surgical intervention to prolong health. As a graduate student I studied adjustment to chronic illness. My master’s thesis concluded that the greatest predictor of adjustment is the identity of the condition and the perceived consequence. Patients who are surprised by a diagnosis are often overwhelmed, which can lead to ambivalence. Patient engagement is essential to empowering them to be an active participant in treatment decisions. I appreciate the value of taking time to discuss a surgical technique, medication, or test result. As a clinical research coordinator (CRC) I have honed my communication skills to efficiently explain technical information to ensure questions are appropriately answered, while expressing compassion and empathy. I have a self-starter personality that proactively addresses knowledge gaps. However, I often feel restricted by the scope of my role and the research protocols. By becoming a PA, I would use my ability as an effective communicator to educate and positively impact their quality of life.