My current physician has offered to pay for my PA school if I work for him after I graduate. Does anyone have any experience with this??

I am currently applying to PA school.  My physician/boss/employer (ENT specialty) has offered to pay for my schooling if I work for him once I graduate. I have been working as his medical assistant for 3 years. We haven't discussed any details or specifics but I honestly don't know where to even start!  Does anyone have any expereince with this and could offer some insight???  I'm flattered and excited but am hesitant since this is uncharted territory...

I have heard of hospitals(generally rural) offering to send folks to school if they promise to practice for X years at said hospital when done. I have never heard of being sponsored by a specific doc. could be good, but could also end up terribly wrong if they decided to stop paying 1/2 way through or something...

Lots to iron out!  I showed him the tuition from one university (110k) including health insurance etc plus living expenses, additional 50k. He was fine with it.  I just don't even know what is reasonable for the contract after I graduate.  I know some universities educate their graduates on nuances like malpractice insurance etc and at this point I have no baseline for what to expect. What is the reasonable amount of years indebted to a company?  Should I expect a lower starting salary with this setup?

The good thing is that we have a great repore so I am not concerned with the work environment once I graduate.

And now for a different perspective...

< EDIT: keep in mind, initially, the top post only said this was her physician and not her employer >

No. Are you crazy? I have warning bells and red flags going off all over the place.