Private Family Practice Offer - Need Help!

I am about to graduate and recently received a contract from a privately owned family practice in Florida (1 physician/1 other PA) in my neighborhood (could walk there if I wanted to).  Here is what they are offering...

1.  29 hr work week (33 hours with lunch hours included - which I figure I'll be working through since I'm a new grad, most likely) with the expectation to see 95 patients per week

2. 1 out of 3 weekend on call duties

3. 12 PTO days a year after the first 90 days when I start

4. 6 paid holidays annually

5.  Malpractice insurance/license fee and natl recert fee

6. $1000.00 CMEs with 3 paid days off

7. Performance eval in one year

8. Pays 50% of my health insurance premiums (for just me)

I am a mom with two teens and I am trying to make sure I'm doing the best for my family, too.  I have student loans and I don't know if I can afford to work here, although this practice seems to be a good fit for me.

Any advice would be helpful!  Thanks!

Guest Paula

Are they going to pay you a salary?  What is it?  95 patients a week is a lot for a new grad.  If you are working 4 eight hour days, that is 23.75 patients a day.  The hours listed are strange.  Is this a part time job with no benefits such as 401K?  No insurance for the family?  Are your kids covered under another plan that you have to buy? 

What is the mix of patients you will see?  Children, elderly, complex, chronic , pain????  

What is the availability of the physician and PA  to mentor you the first few years?  

What will be your loan payments?  Can you pay your loans and still support your kids and other life expenses?

pretty crappy offer

I am about to graduate and recently received a contract from a privately owned family practice in Florida (1 physician/1 other PA) in my neighborhood (could walk there if I wanted to).  Here is what they are offering...