Required GPA of 3.0

Hello all, 

To make a long story short, when I first left home for college I did really bad. But over the years I have improved, and I have a few retakes in my science classes. When I graduate, my GPA will be over a 3.0 but my CASPA sGPA won't be. From my understanding CASPA doesn't do grade replacement, it takes into account your entire academic career. I have 5 sciences classes left (ochem, micro, genetics, cell bio & physiology), and even if I were to get an A in all these classes I still wouldn't have a 3.0 science GPA (sad, I know lol). If they only took into account the last grade I got, I'd have no issues.

I'm a Texas resident, and I have no desire to go out of state for school (but I might have to). With the pre-reqs I have, I can apply to 5 schools: Baylor, UNT, UTMB, UTSW & UT-Pan American. With the exception of UT-Pan American, their websites say the minimum required CASPA GPA is a 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. 

I take this to mean I won't even be considered with a sGPA less than a 3.0. When CASPA calculates my GPA, they probably wouldn't let me continue with the process, am I correct in this? 

Should I look into out of state schools that don't specifically state a GPA requirement? 

You are in a rough spot, the sGPA is also considered the more important. Just about every school has a 3.0 req. it may just mean taking even more higher level science courses with As until you have the 3.0. Otherwise most of these schools will auto sort you out of the stack.

Take a look at the CASPA FAQ to see the courses included in sGPA calculations. Classes such as health and medical terminology are included, consider some of those to boost your sGPA, as well.

Many times when a school says just GPA, they mean cGPA. Some will delineate sGPA versus cGPA. You can contact the programs to ask.

As far as CASPA, they don't stop the process. All they do is verify everything and pass it on to the schools. They decide if you continue, not CASPA.