Ortho Residency or start working?

I am an upcoming grad in a couple of weeks and have always seen myself doing ortho. I have a few options after graduation. I was recently accepted into an ortho surg residency, I also have a job offer in sports med where I would have to relocate, and I also have a job offer at a local level 1 trauma hospital in ortho trauma. Both jobs are split clinic and or and I can see myself being happy doing either job.

My question is, is it worth it to do an ortho residency when I have job offers in ortho?

For me a lot of it would depend on who the residency is through, what your exposure during that residency will be, what the educational foundation is etc.

If it's a crap residency where you are just being used as cheap labor for 6mos-1yr then just take the job.

If it's an accredited residency program at a reputable center who has experience with this style of training then do as EM said.

yes, do the residency, then if you still want those same jobs a year from now they will have to offer you more money and a better scope of practice...

Deff not true. They dont "have" to do anything. I shadowed at an ortho practice with 2 PAs. One had done a residency and had ~10 years experience as a PA in ortho. The other was a new grad and this was his first job. They both had the exact same scope of practice and just split the patient load. Salary was also comparable.

Deff not true. They dont "have" to do anything. I shadowed at an ortho practice with 2 PAs. One had done a residency and had ~10 years experience as a PA in ortho. The other was a new grad and this was his first job. They both had the exact same scope of practice and just split the patient load. Salary was also comparable.

If a PA with 10 years of experience is making about the same as a new grad, they are selling themselves short and are probably not a good comparison.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk