From respiratory therapist to PA

I was just wondering how many PAs are on here are former respiratory therapist. I'm about to graduate next week from a respiratory therapy program. I just finished up my last day of clinical in the NICU and I LOVE being in the NICU. I want to find a job in a NICU and work for a few years and get my bachelors and then apply to a PA program somewhere. I would like to specialize in neonatology, is that a hard specialty to get into?

many nicu jobs for non-physicians go to NPs (NNPs), but there is a PA postgrad residency in neonatology that would set you up nicely for a job in the field. RT is a great background for PA school. many of these folks end up working in critical care after graduation.

Yes, I am a former RT and CPFT. As a student I really wowed them w my vent management and ABG skills!!!  Get a little time under your belt as an RT before starting the PA path.

Thanks! I was thinking I would work for 4 or 5 years before I apply to PA school. What specialty do you work in?

many nicu jobs for non-physicians go to NPs (NNPs), but there is a PA postgrad residency in neonatology that would set you up nicely for a job in the field. RT is a great background for PA school. many of these folks end up working in critical care after graduation.

I did a job search yesterday for NICU physian assistants and I see hospitals will take an NNP or a PA. I found that there are two schools that have NICU residencies for PAs. Hopefully I can get into one of those schools one day.

• 3 years later...

I have often found myself wondering about advancing my career to a PA from being an RRT. I like being a RT, but I feel like I want to do more. my dilemma is the financial piece, paying for more school, and removing my income from my family, while attending school. I am interested to see who has done this and what did you do.

• Administrator
On 7/24/2015 at 5:43 AM, krisephillips said: