I need some answers

I’m in my 3rd semester of PA School right now- and I feel as though I need some answers for what my program has been doing. I want to know if this is typical of PA programs and, if anyone has this expertise, the legality of all of this. I apologize, but this may be a long post. I encourage you to read it through till the end! 

My program faculty are notorious for not letting people reschedule exams for family matters. However, they let our straight A student delay an exam by 3 days because she had a bad cold. 

Recently, one of our students had a family emergency in which her younger sibling (only 2 years old) was in an accident and suffered 3rd degree burns on 30% of her body. This happened yesterday. The faculty will not let her reschedule the 2 exams we have today and Friday. She was given the choice to either take the exams, or leave the program. 

First semester, a different student's father was in a MVA that left him in critical condition. They forced her to take 3 exams that week or be dismissed from the program. She was later dismissed from the program. 

In addition to this horrible, insensitive, and seemingly biased (a cold >> an immediate family member in critical condition??) policy, we were made aware on Monday of this week that the tuition for our program is has been raised by  $12,000 (meaning a ~$2,000 hike this semester). For reference, our current total tuition and fees total to <$23,000. So this is a very substantial increase. Our tuition is due August 7th, and the majority of the class has already accepted loans, that no longer are enough to cover this semester's tuition. Our cost of attendance has not yet been adjusted (though they have said it will be) so additional funds aren't even available yet. When we call the financial aid department at the school they have no idea how to get us the extra money.