Issues with clinical placements

Hi everyone,

I'm a first year student but I wanted to share some concerns I have with my program and clinical placements. My program hired a new clinical coordinator who, so far, seems significantly less capable than the previous person in that position. I am not in my clinical year yet, however many second year students have expressed frustration of being placed at locations that are over an hour from school (which they did say was a possibility before enrolling), but also the tardiness of being placed; one student found out her location for her July rotation on July 3rd. It may be a separate issue, but this new staff member has also been very condescending, arrogant, and hostile towards students when they express concerns. 

I know with the increasing number of PA schools there is bound to be some saturation for clinical rotation sites, but seeing as how the consensus is zero confidence for the new clinical coordinator, I am a little nervous about not getting quality rotations next year. Have any students had similar experiences? I know that whatever happens the best thing to do is work my butt off, which of course I will, but I'd be lying if I said it wasn't in the back of my mind. 

• Administrator

You really have no choice at this point.  Well, not really, you could apply to different PA programs while in your first year, but that seems quite risky and expensive for a perceived problem.

I was told to expect that no more than 5 of my 10 rotations would be within an 8-hour drive of the school.  The real number was 9 of 10, and the 10th was the international rotation I'd requested.  I suspect that rather than malice or incompetence, the clinical team at the time tried to under-promise and over-deliver, and your school may be the same way.