Not working as a PA...

I'm a licensed new graduate currently applying to jobs. I've had one job offer so far, but turned it down due to a lackluster contract in an environment that I suspected I would get taken advantage of.

My problem right now in my job search is that after going through school, I now no longer think I belong in medicine, at least as a provider. It's painful for me to admit that, but the evidence is hard to ignore. I love science and the continuous learning medicine affords, I enjoy patient interactions (within reason), and I had previous experience working in hospitals and clinics as a medical assistant. Going into PA school, I was extremely excited to finally work towards the career I'd hoped for...but then came the slow realization, especially during clinical year, that I seemed to always be missing the mark and not enjoying calling the shots. During school, I kept thinking, "well, maybe I'll like/be better at the next specialty/rotation." My clinical skills seemed to never improve, I made multiple egregious errors that I'm lucky were caught, I was terrible at thinking on my feet, and I was heavily criticized by preceptors for the work I did. The knowledge I had gained from my didactic year didn't seem to exist in my head once I was expected to use it. I noticed that I was extremely slow at making clinical decisions (it was obvious when comparing to other students on the same rotations), because I just don't seem to ever make the connections I am supposed to, even at the student level. In hindsight, I think my personality is more suited for research, in that I am severely mismatched in my ability to keep (or enjoy) the pace and pressure of working as a PA. Frankly, I think I'm a dangerous clinician and I'm amazed that I graduated and passed the PANCE...but I never would have been able to fully predict this without going through the process first.