Primary Peds Offer

Hello, 

I just received an offer for a primary pediatric job. Looking for any advice from fellow PAs. I graduated in 2013 and have worked as primary peds PA for the past 1.5 years. I decided to look for a new job to be closer to family.

Job specifics:

-Base salary: $75,000 with production bonus after 1 year of work. Now sure yet how production bonus works. I want to talk to the other PAs there is get their input on this.

-Work hours: 4 days/week with 1 saturday every 3-4 weeks. However, saturdays are separate pay (not included in salary) and are paid $60/hr). Saturdays typically 3-4 hrs long. I could potentially work more saturdays if I wish.

-3 weeks vacation plus 6 standard holidays 

-1 week CME plus $1,000 allowance for CME/year

-Health insurance (4 different plans to chose from). The plans appear to be decent so not too concerned about this aspect. Insurance kicks in after 60 days of working.

-Malpractice through COPIC. Unsure of how much or if tail included.

-No call and no rounding on patients in hospital (no inpatient duties)

Practice has 6 MDs, 4 PAs, 2 NPs

I currently work in a smaller town. Salary is $91,000. I only provide this to compare to the offer. I currently work 5days/week. I am leaning towards accepting this job as is closer to family and I haven't had any other reasonable offers. Please feel free to ask questions and provide any insight/advise. I appreciate all comments. Thanks.

Is this four 8-hour days or four 10-hour days. The salary seems low for full time, but if it's actually 80% of full time, that's not quite so bad. You have to decide if the cut in pay is worth being closer to family. Since you have experience in primary peds, why not get production bonus from the beginning?

Get Sat pay IN WRITING

I think the pay is a little low - even for a 4 day (8 hour) day

What is the number of patients you are expected to see? big difference in 14 versus 30....

Vacation is ok