New grad offers and advice

Hi everyone,

I’m looking for some advice on a 2 different offers I just received.  I am a recent grad and this will be my first position out of school.  One is in ortho and the other is in general surgery.   The ortho job is part of a private, large and well-established ortho clinic.  I would be working mostly with a hand/upper extremity doc with 50/50 split of OR and clinic.  I would also cross train with a sports med and a total joint doc the first year or so in order to have a more broad skillset.  Hours are pretty normal business hours Monday-Friday depending on cases booked.  The general surgery job would be for a local hospital that I’m pretty sure qualifies as underserved and HIS, even though it is in a good sized city.  Duties would be mostly inpatient post of care, 3-6 hours of clinic per week, with some potential OR time (though less than ortho as there are residents present).  

Ortho offer

Base salary: $100,000 – I was told an annual raise of $5,000 is pretty normal with a cap on the base salary of $130,000

Bonus: discretionary for the first 2 years, 5% of collections after that, was told that all of the current PAs easily collect 300K+, making a $15K bonus attainable.  Profit sharing after first year.

Call: $50 to carry pager, $100 per case while on call

Vacation: 7 paid holidays, 4 weeks vacation

Health insurance: $28/paycheck, looking into the cost of adding my wife

Retirement: 401K Roth and traditional available after 1 year.  Was told that the docs tend to contribute to this even without an employee contribution in order to max out their own accounts, typically contributing 5-8% of my base (though I admittedly don’t completely understand this).

Malpractice, licenses, dues, and cell phone paid for by the group

General surgery offer

I haven’t yet gotten an official letter from them but the chief surgeon told me he asked HR to extend an offer, so I’ll give all the info I know and fill it in as I get it.