Former pre-OT now Pre-PA with low sGPA...need some advice please

Hi guys,

So I was pre-OT, but now have reconsidered the decision. OT seems to be limited to me. I wanted to have more patient interaction and it appears that PA's have that and they also have a broad scope of practice. Works for me! I also have an interest in researching pharmacologic treatments for Alzheimer's and Parkinson's. So I am pumped to start the journey towards PA.....but there is a problem. My science gpa is extremely low(2.4). I still have yet to take microbiology, and anatomy&physiology, but it still too low. I have a lot of research experience(one publication) and I am certified pharmacy technician. I am wondering if I can do a post-back program to remedy the sgpa. The ones I have seen are for pre-med students. Do you think pre-PA students can still utilize these programs? My other thought was to complete a MS in Biomedical Sciences to boost the gpa.

Need some advice. I also plan to move to hospital pharmacy. I am hoping to do in-patient. Will count towards HCE?

Thanks guys

I'm not sure about the formal post-bacc programs, but you can do an "informal one" - this is what I did because I had none of the prerequisites so I basically returned for a second degree that was nearly all science except for the random core courses I need to actually graduate.

The very first step in the process is to get some quality HCE under your belt.  There is no other way to know whether or not you really want to treat patients.  From reading your post - and I understand I could be very wrong in this assumption - you have not really grasped this yet.  Treating patients as a provider is different than what you would do as an OT.  We're talking the difference between medicine and therapy, i.e. two very different treatment modalities.

Before you invest any time in pre-reqs I highly suggest finding HCE to establish whether or not a true interest is there.