Please help critique!

My application is unique in that I am already based in a city so I made it specific to that area at the end. This is my first time applying, all critiques are welcome! Thanks :)

As a child, every day, I would curl up with a book and lose myself in a fantasy world. Other children danced, played soccer, or did karate, but I choose to read because I knew in my book everything would turn out okay. The heroine would not die, the bullies would learn their lessons, and by the last chapter everyone would be happy. I continued in this state until December 12th 2001, the day my dad committed suicide. In that one instance I learned that life is not fair, that people do get sick, and sometimes they do not get better.

Fast-forward eleven years and I am shadowing in an ER where a psych-suicide patient is about to be brought in. On hearing the nature of the call most of the healthcare workers roll their eyes-apparently this type of patient comes in often. To me, the call is not such a nonchalant subject. The patient arrives and the doctor and nurses are in and out of the room efficiently doing their duties, but the physician assistant who comes to the patient’s bed goes above and beyond. She does not seem to share the same exasperation as everyone else; while the nurses and the doctors are in and out she stays and talks to the patient, showing concern for their feelings.