University of Maryland University College for pre-PA

I'm a 24 year old EMT who wants to get into PA school. I'm going to paramedic school soon and will pursue a bachelors degree and pre-reqs after. I have to work fulltime to support myself and was considering getting an online degree from UMUC. Distance learning is just so much more convenient to my work schedule. I've heard that it is a decent school and regionally accredited like the traditional state universities. Do you think a degree from UMUC with a good GPA plus 6 years of full time EMS experience, four of which at the paramedic level, would make me competitive for PA school? I know the pre-reqs will require labs so I figured I could take those at a community college.

I emailed the adcoms at the Towson PA program if they thought this was a good idea and they said I would be fine. But that was one school and I would like to hear a broader range of opinions. Thank you.

I'm a student at Towson for undergrad and have some food for thought. The Towson allied health program is restricted to those with an associates degree in healthcare (like EMT-P).  All the core classes for the degree are online and include diversity and biomedical ethics, among others (like medical terminology online). I've been able to get all my prereqs done with quite a bit of flexibility (five week summer courses, a three week winter course, evening courses, etc.).

Something to bear in mind is that universities limit transfer credit, so some classes you take at the community college may not transfer over, meaning you need to take more classes at your university just to get the needed credits for a Bachelor's degree.

Oh, as a side benefit from the Towson allied health program, I was in DC presenting my thesis about barriers to veterans entering the PA field to Senate staffers. It w's because my professor was the department head and had ties down here from a fellowship she did. Don't think THAT won't be coming up in interviews.