Cumulative GPA and GRE... Competitive?

Hi everyone, long time lurker, I'm one of those weirdos... :)

I have a first degree ('06) in architecture with a mediocre GPA (3.2). I'm finishing my second degree in biology that I started in spring 2012 now, cumulative GPA of 3.91, science GPA of 3.89.

I just took the GRE and wound up with 159V, 149Q, 5W.

HCE, 60 hours of shadowing and counting, I've been volunteering in the same ED since 2012, but since I have to work and be in school, (quitting my architecture job to go back to school cost us half our income) my hours aren't high. 4 hours a week roughly means I have 400 hours - I took a year off in there too when work/school got tough and I was training to be a scribe for a few months. Didn't end up pursuing it because I couldn't make the long hours work with classes and my other job. I plan to continue volunteering through the application year, I'm very fond of it! I get to do a lot with patients and it's very interactive for a volunteer program.

LORs are strong. One from boss/science faculty, one from health careers adviser/boss/faculty and one from PA.

How badly will that 3.2 GPA, 149Q on the GRE and low hours hurt me? I hate to bother everyone by asking but I would love the feedback.

Thank you!

• Administrator

You appear to have lucked into doing the same thing that I did, then: I had an undergrad career which was relatively undistinguished, but also science-light, so when I decided to go back to PA school, all the science courses I got with 4.0's really pulled it up.  No matter what your cumulative undergraduate GPA, having your science GPA higher than cumulative GPA is a good thing.

Addendum: Ok, posted while you were.  The 3.49 cumulative is good enough to get interviews most places.  I wouldn't worry about the GRE too much.