Feedback welcomed. First draft

“72 Lake Kitchawan Dr., Lewisboro, Type: ALS, Time out: 19:45:35, Conscious: No, Breathing: No, Responder Script: you are responding to a middle age male who is unconscious and not breathing” This was the message that I received when I was a volunteer EMT at Vista Fire Department. I hastily drove to the address and discovered patients lying down unconsciously with CPR being performed and AED attached. I was ordered by my captain to find out the patients’ pertinent medical information but was unable to find any. The patient was shocked by AED many times with CPR performed for over 30 minutes. The paramedic at this point decided that it would be best to get the patient to the hospital as soon as possible. The patient was then transported to the hospital with CPR performed. I later found out that the patient was not resuscitated. That incident taught me about the fragility of life and how most people just take life for granted. After returning home that night, I pondered about how I can make a difference in helping people more aware of their own health. My journey in pursuing to become a competent professional to provide compassionate personalized care had just begun.