Returning PA employability

Guest ronm77

Guest ronm77

Hello, Please indulge me with your advice regarding my employability. I graduated in 1995 and worked for 6 months in a busy ED and then one year with a general surgeon. I resigned my surgical PA position for family reasons. My wife was left with managing our resaurant business and it was causing her alot of stress. As my salary as a PA was not enough to support our family it seemed the logical decision to retrun to the restaurant business. While the business has supported our family, I regret the decision to leave the PA profession daily. I am considering two paths. 1. Take a refresher course, pass the certification exam and find a position in family practice. This leads to my most pressing question; How employable is a 49 yo PA with essentially the same medical qualifications as a new graduate minus the recent clinical experience they have? 2. I am also considering an offered admission to an accelerated BSN program at a rather high $$ cost.

Essentially I want to live the remainder of my working life in a rewarding, meaningful field where I feel I am making a difference in peoples lives. I am not so certain that nursing would allow me that but am quite confident that returning to PA work would.

Your input is greatly appreciated!

Take a refresher course, buy 2-3 texts to prepare for recertification, dedicate good time study, and take the test.