Conjunctivitis

So I am currently a PA student about to graduate and go into EM. I had a question about the approach to patients with Conjunctivitis. A preceptor once told me to always treat for bacterial unless can clearly be proven otherwise because you don't want to miss bacterial. From a practitioner standpoint do you find yourselves always rx antibiotic eye drops "in case" it is atypical bacterial conjunctivitis?

Like anything else, you do a hx and pe, make a differential, and then tx appropriately. Cobblestones? Vesicles? Pre auricular lymph nodes? Scleral episcleral injections, chemosis?

Abx make no dif in allergic or viral conjunctivities, and corneal abrasions or keratitis are tx'd differently than iritis.

Allergic or vernal conjunctivitis is best tx'd w ocular antihistamines, or mast stabilizers.

Adenoviral infections, hemorrhgic conjunctivitis do notvrespond to abs at all, but need sx relief.

Steroids help if episceritis, or severe allergic fxn.

With a normal cornea, negative purulent drainage, abd rarely are needed...

Yes the tendency is to tx w/ abx x but like abx in dental cavities, they really are not needed... and are more often given simply to move the patient out ... And do not represent critical thinking.

And, other than herpetic keratitis, what is the danger of" missing" a bacterial conjunctivitis?

Unilateral mucopurulent drainage, periorbital cellulitis, maybe good indications.. But if you delay tx... Where is the urgent risk? I am excluding the neonate here... And the PT with possible c. Trachoma ...

The things that you cannot miss are h. Simplex keratitis, glaucoma, corneal foreign body, retrobulbar cellulitis... Just about everything else can be treated without topical abx.

Until you are really good with ddx ocular infections, get good at the dx, then treat the accurate dx appropriately and use abx only when necessary.. Don't succumb to a " move the meat, and give vigamox ( !!!) to any eye irritation complaint".