Which degree is better for a Clinical Lab Technologist.

Hi I am graduation from a CLS program next year and I love it. Trouble is the pay is not very good and I have already been advised by professionals in the field to not get complacent. I love everything about CLS and I also have an interest in public health oriented fields like epidemiology and infectious disease control. I am looking at either a PA in pathology which in my state is mostly a Masters Program or phD:=D: of pathology. I kind of understand the difference between the two in that a pathologist assistant will mainly do gross dissection and a PhD will do research. Can anyone who knows more shed some light on which may be better suited to someone with my background and interests. I love Pathology all around but the job functions of the two seem so different.

Not sure if you're clear on this or not, but this forum is for the other PAs - Physician Assistants. Assuming you already knew that, I have some experience with Pathology Assistants, so maybe I can help.

The Pathology Assistants that I know do gross dissections and dictations. They have to complete CME just like other health care fields, as well. I work at a teaching hospital, so the Pathology Assistants and the Pathology residents both gross, but the residents are also responsible for sign out and frozens (I work in surgical pathology). I'm assuming based on your post that you're not interested in your MD/PhD, though, just your PhD? In that case the fields would be worlds apart, and you would spend the majority of your time as a PhD doing research. I've never actually met any Pathology PhDs, though...all the ones I know are Surgical Pathology MD/PhDs. The MD/PhDs sign out with the residents, sometimes work frozens, and do research the rest of the time.