Call Pay for Surgical PA

I am a new grad working with a neurosurgery practice within a large hospital group.  Starting in the next few months, I will be taking call.  The practice is in the process of deciding how compensation will be structured for this call.  In discussions with other PAs at the hospital, I've learned that they get paid a lump sum just for holding the pager, and an additional "call back" amount for every 2 hours actually spent in the OR (you work for 30 minutes, get paid for 2 hours; work 2.5 hours, get paid for 4, etc).  I also work with clinical NPs and will be sharing hospital call with them.  There may be a separate compensation for that type of call since it will require more "phone time" and less in-person time. I am the first PA in this practice, so I have the unique opportunity to have some say in how my compensation will be structured.  

I was wondering how other surgical or hospital-based PAs are compensated for their call time?  Does your practice differentiate between OR call and floor call?  If people don't mind sharing, what actual amounts are being offered? (I understand this can differ between markets and specialties, but it would be nice to have an idea of what is standard)

Thank you for any input!

• 2 weeks later...

I've learned that they get paid a lump sum just for holding the pager, and an additional "call back" amount for every 2 hours actually spent in the OR (you work for 30 minutes, get paid for 2 hours; work 2.5 hours, get paid for 4, etc).

This strikes me as the fairest way to do it (whether or not the specifics of the numbers are quite right for your area, etc).