Student to Hospitalists....What clinicals/info best prepared you?

Im a student and hope Im allowed to post a thread here-if not please disregard.

Im starting clinicals late this summer. We are required to take internal medicine 1/2, ortho, etc but we get an elective as well. With very little warning (under 24 hours) my school has asked me to pick an elective rotation as well-Ive requested hospitalist as my first choice.

I think I enjoy medical patients :=-0: On top of that we were told that its a challenging choice. Ive been reading up on it tonight but though primary sources were a better idea.

What clinicals did you find best prepared you for the role of hospitalist?

Any advice to someone who may be taking a hospitalist clinical rotation?

How about online resources?

Thanks in advance.

Davo

The best thing you can do to prepare yourself to become a good hospitalist PA is the same to becoming any good PA...

1) Read, read, read. Buy Pocket Medicine http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1608319059/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=0781744474&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0M8XNCE1EADB0WEQ2WAX before you start rotations, and as you encounter diseases and diagnoses as a PA student, look them up. Pocket Medicine is great in that it cites the most relevant literature to back the recommended treatments. Read uptodate/emedicine (both online) when you get home. It's never bad form as a student to not know an answer. What is bad form is not to look it up if you don't know.

2) Be proactive. Ask questions. Write down pearls as you go.

3) Don't be above doing scut work. Help out the nurses, PAs, residents, etc. Be humble.

4) Stay open. You never know what rotation might pique your interest. While hospitalist medicine might look good now, you may find that working in the OR is where you truly enjoy yourself.