Scope of Hospital-Based Neurology Practice?

Guest Samhain_Grim

Guest Samhain_Grim

Hiya folks.

I'm a current PA student with a passion for neuro-stuff. However, from searching around, there's a relative paucity of information on what PAs do in neurology (most of what I find is for neurosurgery, headache; I know we can do LPs, etc.). Now, I could wait until I get the chance to rotate through neurology, but I'm impatient and so.. here I am.

Can a couple of folks who have worked in neurology tell me a bit about what you do? Localizing lesions, managing MS, ALS, epilepsy? Do you feel limited in your scope of practice at all compared to your attending? What does your attending do that you can't (won't) do? Anything you can't do (e.g. are you mostly managing chronic, not seeing acute)? Was it difficult to get started since neuro isn't covered as heavily in PA school as other specialties? What do you like, dislike? Exposure to neurorads, neuro ICU, etc.? If you stopped working in neurology, why? The whole shebang, I want to hear it all. Every little detail, anecdote, or snippet will help me out a lot.

Thanks!

I've been in Neuro for almost 8 years, so hopefully can answer some of your questions. Ultimately it really depends whether you wind up being hospital based or outpatient based. Inpatient practice is going to involve the acute management of strokes, strokes, and more strokes so you'd better like strokes. Outpatient is going to be a lot more variable.