A couple different HCE options...

I'm currently a 4th year student at a university where part of our schooling is made up of 6 month full time internships, and I have been taking advantage of these to try and get some more HCE. During my most recent rotation I worked at a physical therapy clinic as an aide. I'm in the process of applying right now for this upcoming summer - fall 2015, but because I am a biology major the positions that would entail actual hands on experience are very limited (mostly for nursing and heath sciences majors) and I'm not sure how likely it would be for me to get one. I could go back to physical therapy but I wasn't in love with it and I want something more in line with my career goals. As of right now I have approx. 1600 hours of HCE, and I plan on taking a gap year and applying in 2016. So I have two options I am thinking of right now: 

1) Hope that I get one of the HCE heavy positions that I've applied for (~4), and do my internship until Jan 2016, take my last semester of classes, graduate & apply May 2016. 

2) Get my CNA license this summer, finish my degree in the fall and then apply for a full time CNA position in Jan 2016 and work through applying in May 2016 and my gap year.  I could probably get a part time position in the fall too while I'm finishing my degree. 

I'm leaning towards option 2 but a few of the jobs I've applied for are really neat and I feel like I would have an easier time getting a LOR from an internship supervisor. What would be the most logical and beneficial for my application next year? Thanks if you've read this far, I know it's a long one!