Your opinion on my chances?

Hi all,

First off this is a great forum and I have been reading a lot on here. I would like to know your opinion on my chances of getting accepted. I am currently in NJ and hope to apply to UMDNJ and Seton Hall University. I am going to graduate nursing school (BSN) in May 2012 and I anticipate to have a roughly 3.1 to 3.2 GPA. As far as pre-reqs, I have pretty decent grades. (1 C, mostly B's and some A's). Regarding health care experience, I have a very unique position called a "Clinical Information Manager" in the Emergency Room, which I have been doing for about 2 years now. It is also known as an "ER Scribe". And I guess the main reason why I am writing you guys is to get your opinion on the weight of health care experience vs. GPA / GRE.

To give a brief description of my work, I: accompany the physician into the patient’s room and take notes, transcribe vitals/meds/allergies/physical exam/orders, document procedures performed in ED, and document consultations; ALL into the physicians note. I also keep track of the diagnostic tests ordered and inform the physician when the results are back; to then obtain the physician’s interpretation/reading of diagnostic studies (such as EKGs and x-rays) and enter that information into the physician note.

^^This is a brief description of what I do and more information could be found here: http://www.ema.net/cim-position.html

I was told by many PA's and Doctors that my work will look very good on my resume but I never really knew if they were just saying that. I do know that it is amazing experience though, as I feel I can pretty much predict what the doctor will order for many cases. I have done this for the past 2 years at an average of 24 to 36 hours a week. How much will this impress PA schools? Because otherwise my GPA is not that great. Do they even consider that my undergrad is health care related as well?

Thanks all for your time, and I do apologize that this was lengthy,

Edwin