• Replies 247
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am considering applying, but don't think i will get in. My GPA is lower that the average, as I majored in something difficult (chemistry). I feel like I am in perpetual punishment for not taking the path of least resistance, and majoring in something easy, like health sciences/nutrition/exercise science. I can't compete with their 4.0 GPAs. I interviewed in Hazard for the DPT, but didn't get in. I figure if I can get into the DPT next year, when I get ready to do PA, it will help alot. Does anyone know if UK PA replaces grades? I have and am retaking pre-reqs (As in both organics!), and i am not opposed to going to the Morehead campus, if that's what it takes. Good luck everyone! P.S. I got an interview for the DPT, but did not get an interview for a CC PTA program. Go figure.

kellbeth, I don't really know about whether or not they replace grades. I know that CASPA calculates BOTH grades into your GPA. I would assume UK just uses what CASPA gives them.... so that might mean they do not replace grades. I'm not sure though. You should go to the open house on the 15th and ask them that!

Are you planning on getting a DPT (as in doctor of physical therapy?) and then doing PA?

• 3 weeks later...

I haven't heard anything specific about favoring KY residents. Aside from a major tuition discount... They probably do like to keep most of their grads in state, and choosing KY residents is a good way to do that. It's definitely not like some schools where it is nearly impossible for out of state students to get accepted. I know of at least 2 people from other states that are in the program now... for that that's worth...

• 1 month later...