Gastroenterology PA's --- What do you do?

Bronchoscopy- wrong end!

GI PA duties run the gamut- clinic, inpatient rounds, procedures (C scopes, EGD etc)

Paging coloradoPA.....

I would take a look here:

http://www.gipas.org/GIPA_GIPAs.html

Flex sigs, liver biopsies and paracentesis are probably the most common procedures. There are a few PAs that do EGDs and Colonoscopies but that is rarer. Most of the time Gastroenterologists are hiring PAs to do the medical management of PAs while they do more scopes. There is a significant percentage of PAs that do hepatology either as part of a hepatology group or managing HCV patients as part of a GI practice.

David Carpenter, PA-C

• 2 years later...

Hi my name is Nicki, I am currently a Nurse Tech at Baptist Medical Center South, Jacksonville, Florida. I am currently a student with Nova Southeastern University completing my Bachelors of Health Science to apply towards the PA program. I want to specialize in GI, does anyone have any tips or ideas for me to shadow a PA or MD??

Thank you

• 5 months later...

I've been in the same GI practice since I graduated 10 yrs ago. Didn't intend on doing GI in school; I was on an IM track when I took GI as an elective. I liked that rotation so much (and, happily, it appears that they liked me) that I started working for them as soon as a position became available (one of the docs left) 3 months after graduation. 'Till that time, I'd had an unsatisfactory job hunt and continued to work as an RN.