Those who refuse treatment from a Physician Assistant

I work as a paramedic, at least for 12 more shifts until I start PA school, at a suburban urgent care in metro-Detroit. The UC is owned by a DO who shares shifts with her partner, a PA. Just now a patient walked in because of a wound on a finger that was infected that he wanted I&D'ed. He was informed of the cost, as he had no insurance, and that the PA would be treating him. Upon hearing the PA was seeing patients today, he promptly walked out. While this is frustrating, I know that it will soon be in my future. Any input on how best to deal with a situation like this would be great.

My first inclination is to shrug and let it go, if he doesnt want to be seen thats okay. Good luck finding what you need and feel comfortable with for care. My second inclination is to follow him to his car and talk to him about the PA profession, our training and qualifications and why he should rest easy knowing a qualified, competent and caring PA is a short time away from solving his problem expediantly. This second, more confrontational opinion, I am sure is stemming from me being defensive about my new profession and once I am seasoned I will take the "water-off-a-ducks-back" approach.

Thoughts? Any students/practitioners have personal experience that they can share?

this happens maybe once or twice/yr out of 5000 pts/yr in the emergency medicine setting, less often now that I look"older"... as a 30 yr old who looked 20 when I started working it was hard to get respect as a new pa. throw on a wedding ring, grow a beard and voila, instant respect. weird, I know.

if working alone and they refuse to see you, document it as well as your recommendation that they seek care elsewhere as soon as possible. have them sign out ama.