EM Residency

Hi guys! I am a PA student on rotations and sch to graduate May 2015. I am very much interested in ER medicine and have been looking into EM residencies. I have read over the numerous residencies that are available and am wondering how many should I apply to in order to have a good shot of getting accepted? I live in the northeast and would like to stay close to my family. 

For those of you who are applying/have applied/ are in the residency...

1) How many applicants are/were there? 

2) When did you start applying?

3) How did you decide which residencies to apply to?

4) In addition to the program director, who did you approach for your LOR? I know that I'll ask my ER attending to write one but I also am thinking of asking the cardiac surgeon from my CT rotation. Is it poor form to ask a surgeon for ER residency letter?

Thank you for reading my post. Happy Holidays! :)

Hi guys! I am a PA student on rotations and sch to graduate May 2015. I am very much interested in ER medicine and have been looking into EM residencies. I have read over the numerous residencies that are available and am wondering how many should I apply to in order to have a good shot of getting accepted? I live in the northeast and would like to stay close to my family. 

For those of you who are applying/have applied/ are in the residency...

1) How many applicants are/were there? 

2) When did you start applying?

3) How did you decide which residencies to apply to?

4) In addition to the program director, who did you approach for your LOR? I know that I'll ask my ER attending to write one but I also am thinking of asking the cardiac surgeon from my CT rotation. Is it poor form to ask a surgeon for ER residency letter?

Thank you for reading my post. Happy Holidays! :)

1) Not sure exactly but I can say that EM residencies in particular are definitely becoming more popular.  I would guess somewhere between 15-20 interviewees for several of the programs I applied to.