Ortho job talk

Hey all -

I am looking at possibly taking an ortho job with a well established practice. The catch is that the particular surgeon I would be working for has never used a PA before.

What I'm looking for are things that I can ask for in a rural, moderate volume orthopedic surgery practice. Not only am I concerned with compensation (though I am curious what I could pull in), but primarily I want to know how much responsibility and autonomy (if that's the right word) I can ask for. I fully understand that I am not an autonomous provider and that I am linked to my SP, but I know I am capable of solid medical decision making and I want to utilize my abilities to the fullest extent possible.

For example, I would like to be able to perform morning or evening rounds on our patients by myself (at some point). Is this asking too much? I expect to train with the surgeon up to the point where I am capable of handling the hospital management of a post-op patient. This doesn't sound outlandish in my mind.

Thanks in advance for your perspectives.

Andrew

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

So, here's what I have come up with. I am submitting this to the office manager to begin negotiations this week. How does this look?

The responsibilities:

1. Typical rural Ortho clinic: Intakes, Follow-ups, Pre/Post-ops, casting, injections, etc.

2. Hospital: Post-op checks and rounds, co-management of post-op issues with hospitalists and my preceptor.

3. Surgical first assist: this is only 25% of the job.

4. Call: 1 day each week and 1-2 weekends per month.

The surgical practice sees 30 patients per day (3 days/wk) in clinic and the surgeon performs an average of 6 surgeries per week.

With that in mind, how does my proposal look?

Salary: $92,000 (based on 2009 salary reports)

Annual performance review and cost of living raise.

Pay for call: $50/day

Signing Bonus: $10,000

CME: $3000/year

Professional fees/licensing/DEA: covered in full