I am wondering what the best route to take from your undergrad to PA School is. To me, nursing as opposed to a biology or health sciences, et. would be the most logical, because not only are you taking the same prerequisites as any other major, but you are getting the most hands on experience working directly with patients and in a hospital or other health care setting. You can also get all your clinical hours acquired through this route, and work as a nurse before applying to PA school to finish courses or to pay off loans. Will PA schools see that I am a nurse and think that being a PA was just a second option (which in reality it is the primary goal) and therefore not consider the application as much? Also, will this discourage my advisors and other people I will be working under or learning under during nursing school? I understand getting into PA school is very difficult and extremely competitive and that is why I want something good to fall back on with my undergraduate degree, and nursing has many routes I can take as opposed to some other undergraduate degrees. Any thoughts on this route or if not, a better major to choose?

To me, nursing as opposed to a biology or health sciences, et. would be the most logical, because not only are you taking the same prerequisites as any other major, but you are getting the most hands on experience working directly with patients and in a hospital or other health care setting.