Should I? Advice please!

I have a cumulative GPA of 3.39 and a science GPA of 3.6. I'm not a certified medical assistant but I've been working at a dermatologist's for 1 1/2 years doing back and front office duties. Back office doesn't require much medical knowledge. Basically, I just go in with the Dr when he checks patients, assist him while doing biopsies and small procedures, place dressings on patients, and give care instructions. Very minor stuff. Is this considered enough HCE? I'm not in back most of the time either. However, I've come to find that front office work allows for more patient interaction even though it's not a medically related connection. If that makes sense. Anyway, the last volunteering I've done was one summer in '07 at a hospital serving as a Spanish language interpreter. No PA shadowing so far either (shame on me, I know). Thankfully, I have found a kind PA that will allow me to begin shadowing her this month. I know I'm not a very competitive candidate at this moment but should I at least give it a shot for 2012? Or should I forget applying for next year completely and aim for 2013 instead? What can I do differently? Your help will me much appreciated. Thanks

If you have all your prereqs in order I don't see why you can't apply this yr. There are some schools that consider what you do as hce as long as you provide in detail in your PS everything that you do. Be sure to keep track of your shadowing hrs and put your experience in your PS, don't forget LORs from your shadowing PAs. If you don't get in this yr you can reapply next yr as a more competitive candidate. Good luck!