BA vs BS! UC vs Cal State????

Hello everyone,

I am currently a Respiratory Therapist at UCLA medical center with over 3000 hours of HCE and am on my path to becoming a PA, however I am very stuck and require some advice please!

My question is deciding between a BS in Public health at CSULA or BA in psychology or human biology/society at UCLA, which degree/school would look more valuable in getting into PA school? A BS at UCLA is out of the question because they require way too many pre-requisites that are not necessary for PA. Please help me! Thanks in advance.

Thanks for the replies! Cost is also not an issue because UCLA will pay 2/3 of my tuition, and CSULA will be almost free because of financial aid. The pre-requisite classes for PA are being currently taken at a community college so that is also not an issue.

Pros for CSULA: It's a BS in Public Health (good relation to PA) but not a highly ranked institution.

Pros for UCLA: It's a very highly respected school but it would be a BA instead.

They all do actually. Which is why it makes it very difficult. Again only curious strictly on paper which one would look better than the other.

Is medicine an art or science? :) Pick from your point of view since both degrees have the classes you're interested in.

So, which is it?

Guest MedLib42