Arrowhead ER Residency

Hi, everyone. 

I did a search and couldn't find anything to specifically answer my questions, so please forgive me if this has been covered at length before. 

I'm a first-year PA student, and a thousand things might change before I get to the point of applying to a residency (so you might call this a little preemptive), but I have my eye on the Arrowhead (Riverside, CA) one for both geographical and professional reasons, and I was hoping for some advice on things that I could do throughout the course of my PA school education that might help strengthen my application for such a competitive program. 

I figured that I would turn to my fellow forum people first before calling the program, since it is SO far out from my time of application (and it seems like I have a billion exams between now and then, hyperbole excluded). 

I have a strong background in EMS coming in to PA school; I have been an EMT for a busy inner-city ambulance company running 911 calls for about 6.5 years. 

But basically, what do people look for with this type of residency? Is it grades? GPA in PA school? Recommendations from appropriate people? Specific focus on a thesis (I'm in a master's program right now)? Extra ER rotations in clinical year? Personal essays? Interviews / interpersonal stuff? Volunteer work during PA school in trauma/ER/homeless clinics/etc.? 

Thanks in advance for your help and guidance, as always.