Attending - Midlevel Dynamics in the ED

Hey all - 

I was wondering what the work dynamic between you and your attending physicians is? For instance, do the attendings see all the patients you see? Are some places more autonomous and the attendings will only see the really sick patients? How many patients are you expected to see in a shift? How many patients are you expected to manage at a given time? 

I have been doing EM for about 18 months and had one month of orientation. This is my first job out of school. During a fast track shift, the attending will not see any of my patients unless I have a question or concern about a particular patient. The clinical shifts vary - there is a supervisory shift where the attending will see all your patients. Whereas some of the other shifts are set up more like a fast track shift, that is the attending will only see the really sick ones or a patient I may have a significant concern about. We work 8 hour shifts and are expected to see at least 13 patients per clinical shift, more for fast track. At times one midlevel may be managing up to 9 clinical patients, many of which could be high acuity cases. Furthermore, during a fast track shift we are managing 9 rooms and at times this may include multiple lacerations, I&Ds, and other types of similar procedures.

Sometimes I feel like I'm being stretched too thin, but that may also be because I only have 18 months of experience. I'm just curious how other EDs compare...thanks in advance.