Clinical Practice

I am a prospective PA student who was just offered my first interview. As I was going through and reading more about the school, I found that the students practice clinically on each other. I was wondering if this is common among PA schools. The school mentioned that students would wear a tshirt and shorts to class and must be able to remove their shirts for thoracic, cardio and abdominal examination. I find this to be a little uncomfortable and was just wondering if this is normal and I should get used to seeing it as a part of the curriculum or if it was something I could avoid. Thoughts?

In our clinical skills lab, we were in small groups to practice (4-6 students in a room). My group was usually all female which I preferred. When we were all together as a big group practicing something, the guys usually volunteered to be the "patient". Also, we tended to have some students that were more comfortable being undressed in the group and they would just let the rest of us practice on them. Anyway, yes it is the norm, but we mostly stuck with individual comfort levels in my program.

It is the norm. At our program we had to switch partners every week so we could see as many variants of normal as possible. We worked with male and female partners. As stated above, women wore sports bras and shorts, men wore shorts. It was absolutely no big deal at all. People got so comfortable that men and women often changed for cadaver lab in the same locker room area to save time. No big deal.

Not normal, not professional and weird.

My school hired "patients" for us to learn physical exams. Most of the patients had been doing it for years and were also the patients used in OSCE and in the med school. I think the only time that we learned a new skill on each other may have been the musculoskeletal exam.