So I had posted the topic "asking for a raise"... and well I ended up applying for an accepting another job, but after I told my current employer I was leaving I recieved an email telling me that I will need to pay back 2 years worth of my DEA fee becuase I was only working there for a year and it is good for 3. Is this normal practice? Also I was told I had to pay back 8 months worth of by AAPA membership fees. So all said and done I will have to pay like $600 which he plans to take out of my last paycheck. Since this is my first time leaving a job, I don't know if this is standard practice. I do mention that I was allowed up to $1000 a year for CME, which I have only used like $140 total (for my AAPA membership) over my past year there of which was supposed to be from CME money. So I don't understand how he can take that back at this point.

Is not a standard unless stipulated in the basic employment contract.

Most places that pay for these things consider it a cost of doing business and understand that each practitioner may leave during the license active period.

Sorta chintzy on the employers part.

• Administrator

Just checked your other post... Yep, you're female.

You need to tell him in no uncertain terms that it's not happening.  Don't mince words. "Withholding money from my paycheck unilaterally and without an agreement to do so would constitute theft.  I'm sure that's not what you intended, so best wishes writing contracts with more specific termination clauses for your next employee."

Don't let male providers use gender-dominant communication styles, conflict preferences, and power disparities to deprive you of the money you're entitled to.  Unless you've made some big oversight in what the employment contract actually states, he's trying to bully you.  It's unprofessional and illegal; don't let it happen to you.