CASPA Narrative Rough draft- please critique

My first attempt at the CASPA narrative. I want to convey several things: 1: I will be an excellent PA. 2: Just because I am currently a nurse does not mean I cannot think like a medical clinician and practice medicine in the future. 3: Although I had several poor grades as a freshman and sophomore in college, I have gotten my priorities together and committees should look more closely at the semesters past those.

Please be constructive! Thanks! 

“Your son had a cardiac arrest soon after coming back from the operating room. He is stable now, but is on ECMO.” As I am drawing blood from my post-operative heart transplant patient, I listen to the Pediatric Cardiac ICU Physician Assistant, Amy, comfort my patient’s family, all the while explaining the mechanics of ECMO, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation, and the physiologic condition that led him to arrest. Empowered with knowledge, the parents feel confident enough to leave the unit, have dinner, and leave for the night to the hotel.  Prior to Amy spending almost an hour with my patient’s parents, discussing the prognosis and the plan of care for the coming days, these parents had barely left the unit to use the restroom since their son was admitted two weeks ago with end stage heart failure. I was amazed at how well-rounded a medical provider Amy was; encompassing compassion, empathy, and an extensive medical knowledge to not only provide excellent care to her patients, but to their families as well. That was five years ago, and I had been a nurse for almost a year. Though the patient ended up ultimately dying several days after transplant, this single day out of my career still is in the forefront of my mind. This is the day that I decided I wanted to be the medical provider to these children that Amy was. This is the day that I decided I would become a Physician Assistant.