A unique take on the "I want to take an EMT-B course"

I was an EMT-B for many years prior to being a PA, but once I got my PA I let the EMT lapse.  This was a mistake- I wish I had just paid the fees and kept the cert, but I didn't think I'd really use it again. So now I want it back.

I'm soon moving back to my home state of Texas, and to my knowledge there is no way for a PA to challenge the EMT-B test in Texas (and I know you can't do that for the NREMT, but I'm just interested in the state cert).  So, this means retaking the course, which I don't mind- I think it'll be rather interesting. 

Here's where I come to the forum- I've been doing some looking around at the PERCOM online program, and was curious if any of our ambitious pre-PA's who are also in EMS have any knowledge, whether first-hand or second-hand, about this program.  I'm just looking at EMT- no interest in progressing further (for now).

Option B would be to befriend a state legislator who can introduce legislation to allow PA's to challenge the EMT-B cert in Texas, but since that will take much more time and effort, the EMT-B course will have to do :)

I have a friend who's in their paramedic program; he used to be a medic but let his card lapse.  He said for someone in that situation (which is similar to yours) the program is good, because you can get it done faster and have less hoops to jump through.  Also, you don't have to be in Texas, he just traveled down there a few times for the skills (two days at a time), I believe it was only twice.

Another option you could consider is getting certification in a state that allows PAs to challenge the exam, then just transferring your state cert to Texas (assuming Texas allows for transfers from other states)